Search on for new regional tourism board members

Phil_Winterton_CWp03Following newly announced reforms to NSW regional tourism, a new Destination Network is replacing the South Coast Regional Tourism Organisation (SCRTO).

Along with Wollongong, Shellharbour, Wingecarribee and the Shoalhaven, Kiama is now part of the Sydney Surrounds South Network. The six regional networks will work with a new Regional Division within Destination NSW. Unlike the regional tourism organisations they replace, their operations will be fully funded by the State Government for four years, including paid board positions and professional staff.

New South Wales Minister for Trade, Tourism and Major Events, Stuart Ayres, says, “By investing around $10 million a year we aim to bolster our efforts in attracting visitors to regional and rural NSW. Regional tourism contributes $6.7 billion to our state and employs 73,900 people.

“This plan will create strong and sustainable tourism bodies to ensure we continue to see growth in this key industry.”

Applications are now open for suitably qualified and experienced candidates to be considered for one of the five director roles or for the role as chairman of the new body. The process is being conducted by recruitment consultants to ensure the optimum mix of skills.

“We encourage people to go to the Destination NSW website and see what is involved with these exciting new roles,” says Carole Johnstone, Council’s Strategic Tourism and Marketing Manager.

Applications close 31 July.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s